WIP Wednesday: Playful Stripes Cardigan

I bought the yarn for this lovely little Playful Stripes Cardigan back in the summer for BK. I chose colors that made me think of spring, Easter, fresh crayons, and the fun of being a little kid. She loved them – particularly the pink.

But once I started knitting it up this winter, she asked where the green was.

You see, me, Mr Snips and my mom and dad all have “assigned” favorite colors that BK has determined for us. And it so happens, that by complete accident, I picked the assigned colors of BK (pink), me (purple), my mom (yellow) and dad (blue), and not what she has assigned Mr Snips (green).

So… she asked for green to be put in for Daddy. How can a knitter refuse?

I had already done the small stripes of color at the cuffs and the hem, so I am going to have to be a little creative with the green placement. My current plan is to stick a couple of rows into the yoke patterning somewhere, and then do the button band in green. It won’t be visible when the cardigan is fully buttoned, but will be a cute peek-a-boo of color when it isn’t. And I already have yellow and purple buttons for it, so I think it will really pop!

car_knitting

Yesterday’s car knitting!

I’m trying to get it ready for Easter… so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

