FO: Pinky reindeers

Just popping back in to say that I finally DID manage to finish BK’s hat (and block both mine and hers). And remember how I complained that it wasn’t cold enough to wear mine? Well, it is now! Winter arrived on Sunday, and we had a fresh, beautiful layer of snow.

DSC_0547

BK and I celebrated by bundling up and going outside for a little play. She has been desperate to play in the snow for weeks! We’ve had a couple of outings this week in her hat to play in the snow. It finally melted yesterday, but we’re meant to have more this weekend.

She loves her new hat. I put it on her to take her to my mom and dad’s the other day, and when we arrived, my dad playfully asked, “Who’s in my driveway?” BK announced, “Me and the pinky reindeers!” Hence the name of the finished product. 🙂

DSC_0529

I did make some mods to make it more shallow for her little head. The circumference seemed right on when I had her try my hat on, so I left it the same and cast on the same number of stitches on size 2 needles like I did for mine, and switched to 4s for the colorwork, just as the pattern said.

  • My ribbing is only 1″ long.
  • After the ribbing, I knit three rows in grey, instead of the 1 row called for in the pattern to have a bit more of a break since I knit the ribbing in the CC. (As a note, I originally was going to make this hat the opposite of mine. But as much as I LOVE this pink color, my eyes were about to bleed after the ribbing, and I decided there could be too much of a good thing. And switched back to grey as my MC :-)).
  • I skipped rows 1-2 of the chart.
  • Then I skipped rows 4-9 of the chart.
  • After that, I followed the pattern exactly.

At 2.5 years old, she still has some growing room in this hat, and I think it will fit her for at least another year or two.

Sine we both have a little extra space at the top of our hats and they are not quite beanies, I keep wondering if we need pom poms. Still undecided. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “FO: Pinky reindeers

  1. Everyone thinks I look silly in my Pom Pom hat but I love it! I say go for it, you can always take it off when it goes out of fashion!

Leave a Reply

