Monday Musing: In Threes

My friends, I decided there were too many fingering weight projects in my WIP pile, so I decided to start knitting something worsted. What better project than the In Threes I’ve had planned since Christmas?

You see, when my Friday Night Knitting group gave me baby shower for BK last year, one wonderful lady made her a little In Threes in Liberty Wool, and I was just taken by it. I loved that it was a nice warm layer without the bulk of sleeves. I loved that she could wear it in the evenings as a layer before it got really chilly out. She even wore it as a layer to play in when it got so frigid this winter that no one’s heater could keep up and it was cold inside. In short, she got lot of wear out of it and I loved the look of it.

20140629-213916.jpg

So I purchased a different color of Liberty Wool (7829) right after Christmas with the intention of knitting her a bigger one for this year. Last week, I got itchy fingers to start the project. I purchased the pattern on Ravelry, pulled out my yarn….and realized I was at least a skein short on yardage!! I remember looking at the yarn requirements on my phone via Ravelry in the store while buying the yarn, and I even remember telling my mom that I would never need more than 2. Not sure how that happened…

Anyway, I went to the store again last week to see if they had more. I figured I would have to buy a different dye lot and do some alternating. But, to my amazement, I found two of my dye lot! I bought them quickly, thought I should buy a lotto ticket if my luck was that good (and then didn’t), and ran home to start. I LOVE it so far – the pattern isn’t too taxing on my stressed mind, and the color changes of the wool keep me guessing. Never mind that I will probably never need the 4th skein (which, in honesty, I bought because in my mind I needed that much, but when I got home and consulted the pattern I realized I did not – fool me twice!), it would make a lovely coordinated hat!

I’m zooming along on the yoke now, but will be spending the work week wishing I was finishing up this lovely!

20140629-214851.jpg

In fact, my plan is to have it done in the next two weeks. All of my current projects have been lingering for so long (like since October – yeek!!), I feel I need a quick win. I’ll have to try to carpool as much as I can this week to get in my knitting time!

What are you working on this week?

One thought on “Monday Musing: In Threes

  1. Everything!!!! No – really I’m trying to finish the May KNL mystery shawl with the knit purl hunter called the whole story. I’m on the final clue. Yea.

Leave a Reply

