Spring knitting fever

Just last week, I was thinking how I had hardly any desire to knit. Readjusting to a full-time job outside of the home has been draining, and I find myself staring mindlessly at the TV as soon as BK is asleep. I hardly ever watch TV without multitasking – usually it’s knitting, but sometimes it’s looking up cute things to buy BK online or talking to Mr Snips or reading a book and occasionally looking up. This staring like a zombie thing is new to me. But it’s literally all I have the mind power for after the day is done.

But on Saturday, something snapped in me. And I caught spring knitting fever badly. I blame it on the soccer.

Indy Eleven Inaugural Game

Indy Eleven’s Inaugural Game

You see, Mr Snips and I are passionately supporting our new pro team in Indianapolis, the Indy Eleven. Since we are a half-British household, it is required that we follow football/soccer. And while we watch EPL at home, there is something great about having access to live games close by. Back in pre-baby days, we’d travel to Columbus, Ohio once a year to catch a Columbus Crew and make a weekend of it. Now with BK, it’s lovely to have the grandparents watch her and go to a local game more frequently. So far, we’ve been to the first two home games. And while the team appeared to be in a bit of a slump during part of the game, I started browsing the crowd (as I tend to do). Checking out handbags to see if I like them, making mental notes of styles I like and want to look out for in the store – those kinds of things. Since it’s gotten pretty warm, I wasn’t really looking to scout a knitted project, but the evening chill had brought out a few light jackets. And then I saw it two rows in front of me, a perfect lightweight effortless cardigan. And I wanted it. And wanted to knit it. Badly.

I can’t decide what is most like it. After a quick Ravelry search, I think it’s like the Effortless Cardigan, but without the ribbing, in that the primary characteristic is that it’s longer in front. If you know of any other patterns in this vein, let me know! I’m dying to get one made in some kind of cotton-y something for a spring/summer/fall evening thing to throw on for these evening football games.

And then. Then I received a baby shower invitation. And it’s for a boy. So I mentally went through the boy patterns I considered for BK before I knew she was a girl. After some thought, I’m pretty sure it’s going to have to be a Gramps cardigan. But which one (cables or sweet elbow patches?) But then I wonder if I should go for a classic hooded cardigan, because I found those so nice to put on BK in lieu of a coat? My mom has a great little unisex pattern that only has one seam on the hood that would be beautiful – but I can’t seem to locate it on Ravelry.

Then… I was thinking that I bought a short-sleeved quantity of Ultra Pima in a lovely bright blue in 2012 for a Gemini. It was going to be my traveling project for our visit to England, but I was having such a great time at the Olympics and Harry Potter and such that very little got done. I also found a weird spot at the very beginning of the project and decided to unravel everything. So it may be time to resurrect that project!

And of course, I’m still working on my happy, bright pink socks to work on. I’m blaming the knitting fever on spring and looking at these beauties in my yard!Yellow tulip Pink tulip

One thought on “Spring knitting fever

Leave a Reply

