Of hats and socks and pancakes

Before I moved to England, I did not know that there was such a thing as Pancake Day. And I certainly did not know it meant crepes and not the lovely fluffy pancakes my mom had made for me my entire life. So my first Mardi Gras (I know what that is, even though I’m not Catholic!) in England, my friend Sarah invited me over for a Pancake Day celebration and I was hooked. Any excuse for crepes, Nutella, strawberries and bananas works for me!

Since we’ve moved to America, I’ve seen IHOP getting in on the action, but it’s just not the right kind of pancake for me. Instead, Mr Snips whips us up something yummy at home. Every year, I Google a recipe, but this year, we hit on the best one yet – from All Recipes. I’m not sure what’s different about this particular recipe from what we’ve done before, but they were incredible! Below is a picture of one of mine. I favor doing half strawberries, half bananas, and a liberal slathering of Nutella. Yuuuuuuum! It was super delicious. 20140305-095758.jpg

In knitting news, the things I thought I would do last week, I actually ended up doing this Monday. I finished my Cabled Canuck in the evening. After it gets a bath and a blocking, I’ll be sharing the FO with you. I am so in love with it! Then, I immediately brought out the swift and winder to prep my Cherry Tree Hill Superwash Merino in the Life’s A Beach colorway to start the basic socks I mentioned. It’s a hard colorway to capture on camera, but I got the best of the worst pictures of it sitting on my laptop. There is a bit more green to it than you can see here. 20140305-095847.jpg

I was on a roll until I realized all of my long size 1 circulars are on other projects. Which means either putting a project on stitch holders or buying another set. There is no way I will wait till a project is done to start these – I am too impatient!

So until I decide how to get some size 1s free, I am furiously working away on my Bigger on the Inside shawl. I have done one repeat of the decreases, and am feeling ridiculously proud of myself! It may yet be done before the end of 2014!

Wishing you a good second half of the week! I am feeling time slip by way too quickly here, so I will be focusing on trying to slow down and enjoy the moment.

Leave a Reply

