Monday Musing: Cabled Canuck

Monday Musing is a new semi-regular feature where I will outline the week’s plans for knitting. 

This week, all I can think about is casting on for the Cabled Canuck. I have had it saved to my favorites in Ravelry since March 2012, so I’m really overdue on getting started!

Planning my Cabled Canuck

It finally dawned on me that I have the perfect yarn in my stash to make it – Three Irish Girls “Here’s Looking at You, Kid” – a color from the 2012 (I think?) yarn club. It’s the Springvale Super Merino base. Why it took me so long to put the pattern and yarn together in my mind, I have no idea.

This yarn is a really interesting color. Most of the time, I think it’s grey. But when I showed it to Mr Snips the other night in only artificial light, it looked kind of army green. Regardless, I think it’ll be a nice neutral that will probably take on a little bit of whatever color I’m wearing elsewhere. I’m a bit of a coat fiend, so I have a few winter coat options, and I think we all know that since I’m a knitter, there are a multitude of winter accessories that I could put with it.

Now if I could just find the time to wind the yarn…

What are you working on this week?

7 thoughts on “Monday Musing: Cabled Canuck

  1. I’m a coat fiend too! I’m not sure which came first though, my surplus of knitted accessories or all of the coats to go with it.

    This week I’m working on a sweater for my sister. The design is inspired by Battlestar Galactica.

  2. I had to take a break from Bigger on the Inside, I am to the decreases but thought my brain would break. This week I have 2 bibs to make and I am working on the Lola Cowl from Quince & Co.

  3. I just stumbled across this pattern last week. I think it looks lovely, and I’m hoping to knit one for myself eventually! I’ve just cast on another little Garter Ear Flap hat.

  4. Pingback: Monday Musing: Hat, Hat, Sock | knitsnips

  5. I am only about 9 rows into the decreases, but I tried to do it while sleep deprived, and had to quit. Hoping to pick it up again this week!

Leave a Reply

