Happy Valentine’s Day! featuring SNOW

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! I hope you’re having a good day. I’m feeling especially full of love this year, since I have a little bitty Valentine!

I am generally pretty enthusiastic about all holidays. I even have one of those sweet little garden flag stands and a large variety of flags to display on it. I put out the Valentine’s one a couple of weeks ago. It really does say “Happy Valentine’s Day” across the top with cute little hearts and flowers underneath. You wouldn’t know it though, because now it looks like this:

My frozen Valentine's flag

That’s right – not just snow, but icicles, too! And the forecast this morning that made it sound like we were getting a minor snow (1-3″) today, seems to have spiraled a bit out of control. Large, heavy flakes have been falling since noon, and don’t seem to be slowing down. The roads are completely and totally covered with at least 4 inches of snow, and probably more. Thank goodness for 4WD! And this is on top of the snow we already had, which was blanketing the ground.

So… it’s looking like my Valentine’s spirit will be frozen in place until we start to thaw out (hopefully next week!). It’s a bit of a pet peeve of mine to leave decorations out too far past the holiday, but it seems this time I don’t have much of a choice. The back view of the flag is almost as impressive as the front, though you can at least sort of tell what it’s supposed to be…

Back view of my frozen Valentine's flag

This winter has been relentless, and it’s close to breaking my spirit. I love a good snow day or two, but we’ve had too many to count! Though BK and I don’t have to worry about it for a few years yet, the schools are having a hard time trying to figure out how to make up all of the lost time they have had because of snow and the dangerously cold temperatures. I feel especially cheated about this year because we didn’t get a white Christmas, but it feels like it hasn’t stopped snowing since then! I’m trying to keep positive by imagining spring, and thinking of how we will once again be able to leave the house without worrying when the snow is coming or if the roads have been plowed.

Mr Snips and I will be staying inside to celebrate Valentine’s Day, where it is warm and cozy. We always stay in and eat pizza; it seems silly to go out among the crowds for a day that’s meant to be about spending time with the people you love. So regardless of the weather where you are, I hope your day is filled with love (romantic or otherwise!), chocolate and knitting. And if you’re really lucky, pizza. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

