How to: make a pattern minder

I am finally making some progress on my Bigger on the Inside shawl! I think I have finally found the rhythm of the pattern. And I also addressed a little niggly thing that was bothering me – my pattern minder.

A couple of years ago, I purchased a set of three pattern minders from my LYS. I knew at the time that I could easily make them, but it seemed easier to just buy some when I had a full-time job and a project on the needles where I really needed them. They came in three sizes, a small, medium and large. As I used them over time, I realized that the largest size (12.5″) was just too large for use. I always use an 8.5 x 11″ sheet of paper for my patterns, so it was just insanely big. And lately, it seems the big one was all I could locate. I haven’t seen the small one in a while, and the medium one was on a pattern that is currently “resting.” So here I was with this tiny lace pattern, and a huge magnet. I decided to make my own to make the experience a bit more pleasant.

And now I will share with you how to make my lovely pattern minder!

You will need: 

  • Magnets on a roll that have adhesive on one side. I purchased some that was 1/2″ wide and 10′ long.
  • Ribbon. I went with 5/8″ ribbon so that it was slightly bigger than my magnet width.
  • Fire! We used one of those safety candle lighters.
  • Double stick tape

Supplies for a Pattern Minder

To make the pattern minder:

  1. Cut a length of ribbon to 17.5″.
  2. Use the lighter to quickly sear the ends of the ribbon to prevent fraying. Be careful!
  3. Cut two strips of magnet to 8″ long.
  4. Place one magnet 1/2″ from one end of the ribbon. Roll the magnet down carefully so that the adhesive side smoothly attaches to the ribbon without any bumps and so that it is centered on your ribbon. Press firmly to make sure it sticks.
  5. Put a small piece of double stick tape on the end of the magnet closest to the end of the ribbon.
  6. Fold the 1/2″ of ribbon over the magnet so the double stick tape will secure it.
  7. Repeat steps 4-6 with the other end of the ribbon and the second magnet.

This produces a total width of about 8 1/4″ once folded onto a pattern, which I find to be ideal for most of my projects. The 1/2″ gap in between the magnets is just enough to wrap it around the pattern, but not so much you have a saggy spot (something my old ones did).

Pro Tip (from my mom): Find a ribbon that has a pattern which will easily allow you to center the magnet on the ribbon. In this instance, the ribbon with the stitched edging was perfect, because my 1/2″ magnet fit between the stitches. This is why I take my genius mom with me when I go shopping for project supplies!!

Finished pattern minder

Finished pattern minder on my Bigger on the Inside pattern – lovely!

The best part about this is I have $3.84 in this project!! I already had the double stick tape, so all I had to do was purchase the magnets and ribbon, which I did with coupons (all the craft stores have coupons all the time). I have enough to make LOADS from these two little supplies. And I can make larger or smaller ones if I come to a project that will require something different than the standard page size – it’s endlessly customizable. I will probably buy some different ribbon in the future, just to spice it up with a bit of variety.

So there you go – so easy! If you have 10 minutes on a rainy day you can crank out at least 2 of these, and that’s if you measure twice before cutting. 🙂 Enjoy!

One thought on “How to: make a pattern minder

Leave a Reply

