Friday Favorite: My husband

Today, I am kicking off a regular feature I’m calling Friday Favorite. By regular, I mean it will happen more than once, though I can’t promise every single week. A Friday Favorite will be something that particularly made my week or something that I think makes life easier – whether that be in regards to knitting, babies, or life in general. 

My husband both made my week and makes my life wonderful every day, so he gets first honors with this feature.

Monday night, he casually mentioned that we should have a date night on Wednesday. I said that sounded like a great idea. He said my parents had already agreed to babysit Baby Knitsnips. He said he would pick a place to eat.

So Wednesday came, and we went out to a lovely dinner, and even splurged and had dessert. I got up to go the restroom, and when I returned, there was an envelope on the table that said “Merry Christmas.”

I opened it, and there were two tickets to the Justin Timberlake concert for that evening!! What a fantastic early Christmas surprise!

We ended up having a great time at the show. It was three hours long, which is about the longest concert ever. I can’t think of a single song JT didn’t sing. It was very good – well staged, lots of dancing, part of the stage that moved out into the audience so he was dancing over some of the audience, a cover of Heartbreak Hotel complete with Elvis hip moves. But perhaps my favorite part was when he and his two backup singers threw down some “Poison” by Bell Biv Devoe. I do have a 90s music soft spot.

I don’t have any photos to share because my phone was completely full of pictures and videos of BK. I didn’t even have space left for one more photo or any app updates. Even though I’m downloading everything onto my computer for backup, it still feels wrong to be deleting pictures of my baby.

So, no pictures aside, we had a really lovely time. And probably the latest night out we’ve had since BK was born. It felt deliciously naughty to be out late on a school night. My husband also gets a lot of credit for planning a surprise and giving such a creative Christmas present. We’ve been together seven years and he still amazes me.

And that is why Mr Snips gets the honor of being my first Friday Favorite.

Leave a Reply

