Happy Halloween + Autumn FOs

Halloween is a Big Deal holiday for me. It’s maybe my favorite. I love everything about October and the lead-up to trick-or-treating.

I think it may have to do with my Halloweens when I was growing up. My mom always made me amazing costumes. It was so exciting to decide what I wanted to be, go to the fabric store and pick out a pattern and fabrics, and watch as my mom made the costume of my dreams come true. Over the years, I was a a pumpkin, a fairy princess, Miss America and Jasmine, just to name a few. I loved every one of them.

But we lived in a cornfield on a country road, and trick-or-treating wasn’t really that accessible. No one came to our house most of the time. Occasionally a friend’s mom would drive one of my friends out, but that was rare. My parents would drive me to a handful of houses in town where we knew the people well. I would show off my costume the best I could, and that would be that. The one time I remember trick-or-treating with my older cousin in her neighborhood was amazing! It was so cool to walk from house to house and get loads of candy.

Now we live in a very active Halloween neighborhood, where lots of people decorate for it (though I’m guessing I may be the only one with decorations in every room and outside) and where we average about 100 trick-or-treaters each year. I love it! I love seeing the kids run excitedly from house to house and to see all the neat costumes. We dress up as well. I’m so excited that Baby Knitsnips will get to have that experience in a couple of years. This year, she’ll be dressed as Belle from Beauty and the Beast and will be helping me pass out candy at home.

However… my town has postponed trick-or-treating until tomorrow due to the threat of “severe weather” – which is really just rain. I think it’s silly to try to postpone a fixed holiday like Halloween. It does mean BK will get to wear her costume twice since I will take her to around to see my parents and my aunt and uncle tonight and then she’ll wear it again for the trick-or-treaters tomorrow.

We have also been sporting some of my Halloween-themed knits that I’ve finished up in the last month or two. My desire to get nice pictures with our “good” camera has gotten in the way of me posting things, so in the interest of getting stuff out there before Halloween is over, we’ll make due with some iPhone photos!

Here are my Spooky Season Fingerless Mitts (pattern: seeded mitts), made with the same self-striping yarn as my socks. I’m still undecided on how I feel about these. I had a lot of misgivings as modified them to make them fit. When I cast on the number specified in the pattern, they were ridiculously huge – my modifications are here on Ravelry – but the mods to make them fit also make them look ridiculously small when they are off my hands. Spooky Season Mitts

I found the buttons at Hobby Lobby in the scrapbooking section of all places. I like having a little variety on otherwise matching mitts.

My second FO is a pumpkin hat (pattern: Kurbis baby hat) for Baby Knitsnips. This project I L-O-V-E.  Every time I have taken her out in it, she gets tons of compliments. And while I’m sure that a lot of it has to do with how cute she is in general, the hat really adds something. Baby Pumpkin HatI originally intended this to have a leaf or a spiral vine on it, but once I fell in love with this pattern that had the curled stem, nothing else looked right on it.

So now BK and I are watching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. So much goodness! Harry’s inflating aunt! The Knight Bus! Hermione punching Draco! The Time Turner! Werewolves!

Hope you’re finding something to make you happy today. Happy Halloween, everyone!!!

 

Leave a Reply

