Touched

I do charity knitting and crocheting because I like to, and because I believe in the causes.

My charity knitting project for about two years now has been Hats for Sailors. I heard about them on the Wendy Knits blog, and generally only check out the Ravelry group occasionally just to confirm deadline dates. However, today, I stumbled across their Facebook page.

And there, right in front of me, was a sailor wearing one of my hats in the front of a picture posted back in February. I almost cried. Now understand I have been much more emotional since I had a baby (yesterday, I teared up during a Harry Potter movie I’ve seen at least 20 times and never cried during, and now I don’t even remember what was so touching!), but it really struck me in an unexpected way. I know that my hats go off to a good home on a ship somewhere, and I’ve always been happy just imagining that they are keeping a sailor warm. I knit the hats because I appreciate the service of every member of all branches of the military, and I know that they work very hard and spend a considerable amount of time away from their families to serve our country. It’s just a very, very tiny way to say thank you. But there was something about seeing it in a picture on a real person that made me so unbelievably happy.

I went back to November on the timeline and saw some of my hats in the front of a picture full of hats ready to be sent off to a ship. And that made me happy, too. Because though we all know that knitters are generally great people, it’s so lovely to see how people from all over come together to make wonderful things happen.

The reason I came across the Facebook page is because I’m preparing to start another round of hats to send off before the next deadline, Veteran’s Day. And though I certainly do not do anything to get a return for myself, I feel like I’ve been given a great gift to see that picture.

I would encourage any crafter to find a group with a good cause that needs something you like to make. I know every little bit is appreciated, and sometimes you get something unexpected in return.

Leave a Reply

