New yarn, big plans

I’ve been very slowly plugging along on some current projects – primarily Baby Knitsnips’ Christmas stocking and the Business Casual socks – but I have also been plotting some great upcoming projects.

I have attended two fiber events since BK was born and picked up some great yarn.

First off was the Hoosier Hills Fiber Festival. I attended that about a week after BK was born, which was crazy!! BK stayed home with daddy, as my mom and I made a very short appearance at the festival. My knitting friends are very involved in organizing it, and several of them had booths there. I buy from them at the LYS, so I looked for other must-haves. Last year, there was a woman who had beautiful sock yarn and had made it up into an adorable baby dress from Sock Yarn One-Skein Wonders. I thought about her yarn and that pattern for a whole year! I had to have some of it – the yarn looked like yummy candy. This year, I selected a skein and asked if the dress came in a larger size in the pattern, as it was a 0-3 months, and I knew I could not finish it for BK in time for her to wear it. She said oh yes. So I bought this lovely purple-pink skein, wound it up on the swift when I got home and dug out the book to look at the pattern. And discovered it only comes in the one teeny size. I was very irritated. So now I am on the hunt for a larger dress I can make with one skein of sock yarn. I’m open to suggestions!!

pink sock yarn

Next, I attended the Knit and Crochet Show. I was overwhelmed by choice there and hemmed and hawed for ages on what to buy. I drug my mom and BK up and down the aisles several times before settling on this gorgeous yarn made of milk and soy (Milky Whey in Pearl). It feels like heaven! I am more than a little obsessed. I’d never felt milk yarn before. I am planning on making the world’s yummiest cowl for me with it for the fall. Yum yum yum. I want to eat it up! I just have to decide what pattern is fabulous enough to show off this gorgeous yarn.

Milky Whey yarn

I also scored this fabulous yarn (Scrumptious DK/Worsted) during a sale at an LYS. I had been on the hunt for a while for the perfect yarn to make Hermione’s Deathly Hallows hat, and here it is! And it was on sale! Sounds like destiny to me…

Scrumptious DK/Worsted yarn

And lastly, I finally bought this yarn at my LYS where I attend knit night. I have been visiting this yarn for more than three months. I was holding out because I absolutely, positively do not need any more sock yarn. Last Friday, I finally caved and bought it. It is Lorna’s Laces Solemate and I love the very soft, feminine color of it (though this picture doesn’t do it justice). I believe it will end up being socks, but I’m not sure yet. I’m certainly open to pattern suggestions for this one, too!

Lorna's Laces Solemate in Ogden

So these projects will hit the needles in an as-yet-undetermined order very soon!

One thought on “New yarn, big plans

  1. Pingback: The Afghan Itch | knitsnips

Leave a Reply

