FO: Triton Socks

I finished up the Triton Socks before Baby Knitsnips was born (Raveled here), but my legs and feet were so swollen from the pregnancy that I was embarrassed to take a photo of the finished project on my actual feet. And since I’ve had the baby, there has been no time for nicely modeled shots. So I sent Mr Snips outside for some good lighting and had him take a couple of photos for me of them flat.Triton SocksI really love these socks. I’ve had them in mind for so long, it’s so satisfying to actually see them as a finished pair!

One thing I particularly like about this pattern is the Eye Of Partridge heel. All of the other socks I’ve done have been a fairly standard heel flap (either plain stockinette or with slipped stitches) or a basic short row heel. I think the extra texture of the Eye of Partridge heel really adds to the overall look, and is still very easy to execute.

I also elected for the “persnickety” version of the ribbing, as I preferred the way it flowed out of the lace pattern. Close-up of Triton SocksI used Bliss with a Twist yarn, which is from a local Indiana dyer, that I purchased two or three years ago. I’m not even sure she’s still in business, but I sure do love the couple of skeins I have (I also made these from her yarn) because the colors are so vibrant and it also feels great.

Overall, these were a joy to knit! I’m glad I finally forced myself to use Judy’s Magic Cast-On, which wasn’t hard, and is a really nice way to start a project. I loved the combination of the pattern and the yarn. These are the perfect spring/summer knit – not because I’ll wear wool socks when it’s 100 degrees out – but because the pattern is airy and the color looks like a clear blue ocean or fabulous pool. Now if I could only figure out how to wrangle a relaxing vacation by a pool with a newborn… 😉

3 thoughts on “FO: Triton Socks

  1. Welcome Baby Knitsnips! Now your knitting will be labeled before baby after baby–hehe.

Leave a Reply

