FO: Ty Dy Socks

It’s always good to have a pair of simple socks on the needles. My latest FO is one of those simple pairs using Ty-Dy Sock Yarn.

Ty Dy SocksI should also mention there is nothing I love more than a pair of blocked socks – they feel amazing. These had a soak in Soak and then dried on my Knit Picks sock blockers.  They  look so flat and fabulous.

I was initially convinced this yarn was going to be very busy, and that only a simple stockinette sock would work. Once I actually started knitting, though, I realized that with 40 straight rows of green I probably could have gotten away with something a little more detailed. While I love how these turned out, and that by pure luck I ended up with pink tops, heels and toes, they don’t look like Ty Dy to me.

Wearing my Ty-Dy Socks

But like I said, I still love them. They are very comfortable. I used a sock pattern that I’ve used many other times just to get the basic numbers. I used a size 2.5 needles on these, which is a little looser gauge than I’d usually like for socks. I think that in this case it actually makes them light and airy and very nice to wear. Full details are on Ravelry .

I’m very near completion on the second of my Triton Socks, and about halfway through my first self-striping simple sock. The Dandelion Days Cowl is on a bit of a hiatus, as pattern on every row is more taxing than my brain can handle right now.

I’ll also be back soon to share a quick, happy project!

 

 

Leave a Reply

