This week’s projects: Two pairs of socks

Last week, I started two new pairs of socks, which I’m still working diligently on this week.

After the success of my Ty Dy Socks (pictures to come soon), which were the perfect mindless knitting, I wanted to cast on for another simple sock. I was trying to decide which yarn to pull from my stash for the project when I had a weird dream about casting on with some self-stripting yarn I’d purchased to make Halloween socks. I have no idea why I’m dreaming about Halloween socks in May, but I decided to roll with it.

Halloween Sock YarnOut came my ball winder and swift so I could get this String Theory Colorworks Continuum in RuBisCo ready to get on the needles. I’m doing a basic sock on size 1 needles, and kind of faking it as I go along. I am vaguely following my favorite sock pattern (because I know it fits) in a larger size, since I’m using a smaller needle, and so far that seems to be working out. I’ll let you know once I’ve got one done. I’ve got to say that even though this looks bold wound up, it’s even more eye-popping once it’s knit up in the stripes. These are going to be LOUD, but awesome for Halloween.

I also cast on for a more seasonally appropriate pattern – Triton socks in Bliss with a Twist in Tanzanite. I’m sorry to say that the reason I’ve waited so long to do this pattern/yarn combination is because I didn’t want to learn Judy’s Magic Cast-On. Not that it’s hard, it was just the video explaining it was 8 minutes long, and I had no idea why anything needed to be that involved. Silly, right? I finally did it and it was very easy – and it did not take 8 minutes to figure out.

I took myself to Starbucks last week to enjoy a sunny day with a Frappuccino (in case you’re interested – I do Carmel Light with extra carmel drizzle) and some Triton knitting. It was really lovely. I may be doing it again this week because – public service announcement – Starbucks is doing half price Frappuccinos in the afternoon until May 12!! This makes me very happy.

Triton Sock in progressI’m now working on the leg of the first sock, having successfully negotiated a new-to-me way of doing an actual heel flap on a toe-up sock (my others have been all short rows). I’m really loving it!

The last thing I’m thinking about starting this week is a baby project for a friend. I’ve purchased some yarn (Bernat Satin in Lavender), but I’m stuck between making a hat and mitten set (thinking of the ones I used for the Hermione trio), a little cardigan (I LOVE this one) or going the whole hog for a blanket (also love this!). I really only have a week or so of dedicated knitting time before I don’t know how much free time I’ll have. She’s due in mid-July, and it has to be shipped. So what’s a girl to do? I’ve really been leaning toward the blanket idea, but I really think that’s insane. I’m open to any other ideas you may have for a quick, easy knit (to me, this means little to no seaming) for a baby girl. Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

