FO: Fantastic friend cowl

I’ve had this lovely cowl done for a while now, but had to wait to share until it made its way over the sea to my friend Sarah (remember Sir Ted? that’s her!).

fantastic friend cowlI’ve wanted to make her a scarf or cowl for while, but it took me some time to figure out the ideal yarn/pattern combination. I was finally struck with the perfect inspiration back in February.

This is the GAP-tastic Cowl pattern done in Lion Brand Hometown USA in Dallas Gray. I’ve used the Hometown USA before, for the New Home Throw, and it’s a great machine-washable yarn that is warm and squishy.

Fantastic friend cowl close-upI felt bad sending it to her after it was already technically spring, but thanks to the strange weather both here and in the UK, both of us had snow on the ground the day she received it.

I made a few modifications to this pattern to use the super bulky yarn. I decided to cast on 101 stitches on size 13 needles after doing some research on Ravelry from others who had substituted yarn, and it worked out very well. I knit until I ran out of yarn, and I had a full skein plus a little. It turned out to be 6.5” wide and about 24.5” around, which is enough to comfortably double loop the cowl for the super cold days.

I hope we’re about done with snow both here and abroad, but in case we’re not, she’ll be ready!

 

 

3 thoughts on “FO: Fantastic friend cowl

  1. It’s the most lovely cowl. I have worn it every day since its arrival it’s keeping me lovely and warm.

Leave a Reply

