Full of hope

Last week, I was full of hope that spring was around the corner. I even told my Uggs as I pulled them on one day that it was probably their last outing of the season, so enjoy it while it lasts. I went out on Saturday without a coat (which turned out to be ill-advised – the wind was still quite brisk). I even welcomed DST and the change to have more evening sunshine. With it still sunny at 7:00, I longed to be out on our patio having ice cream despite the chill still in the air.

But then it snowed. And it is still snowing. It’s not coating the ground, but it’s there just the same.

Springing forward for Daylight Saving Time does not usually bother or affect me at all. Though I am a Hoosier who didn’t change time for most of my life, I felt like I adjusted well. And I’m not one of those types who wants to endlessly discuss if we’re on the right time, or if we should change back or change to something else (which strangely is what our legislators seem to want to continue to discuss – it’s a waste of time to do that! – get it?). I’m happy the way we are. But for some reason, this time change has really messed up my sleep cycle and made me a little bit grouchy. At least, that’s what I’m blaming it on.

It may also be this Solaria blanket. I’m pretty sure I’m going to run out of yarn. And I bought it on sale and it’s a discontinued colorway and there is no way I’m going to be able to get any more. This blanket has almost given me a stroke anyway – as you’ll remember, I’ve already ripped out and redone about 3,400 stitches. There are only two completed projects on Ravlery, and both used considerably less yarn than I have. They used size 10 needles, and I’m using 10 1/2 (because that’s what the pattern called for), but I didn’t think that could make the difference of 150 yards – but maybe so? – who am I to say that? I am knitting on with all of my fingers and toes crossed that I can make it to the finish line without having to do some weird yarn and color switch in the middle.

Regardless, I am feeling quite restless this week. I’ve found myself watching reruns on TV that I’m not even that interested in. I felt bad this morning as I was watching an old episode of Doctor Who (this one, if you’re interested), even though I remembered the ending, and even though I’d told Mr Snips last night I didn’t want to watch old episodes on DVD. I don’t think I’m the only one who does that though, am I? I’ll watch things just because they’re on TV, even though I own them and can watch it on demand anytime. It’s like sitting through a movie with all the commercials, even though you have it on DVD and haven’t watched in it five years. I wonder why that is?

I’ve also been watching Castle reruns, but I’ve been trying to limit myself to the ones where I don’t remember who did it. My general rule of thumb is that the shorter Beckett’s hair is, the less likely I am to remember what happened. I do find that I remember a surprising number of details, which makes me feel a bit bad about what I’m using my brain for. What would I be capable of if I didn’t have to store who the fictional bad guy was and how the fictional writer and his fictional cop friends will figure it out?

Here’s hoping to a more positive end to the week, and to this blanket. I’ll be back soon to share a nice FO with you (which will not be the blanket. :-))

One thought on “Full of hope

  1. We seem to be having prolonged wintery weather in the UK also. Just when it looks to be brightening up the temperatures drop again! Roll on daylight saving for us at the end of the month!
    I also seem to find myself watching films you already own on DVD when they are re-run on the TV… ???!?!? why is that???? I hope the Blanket get completed without a hitch, although I feel a change of colour (or color) would add a touch of character 🙂

Leave a Reply

