knitting, scarf

Finally finished.

So… it seems that the poll yielded unanimous results. Navy, teal and white it is. I can’t wait to get started on this color combination for my next charity blanket!

What I’d like to show you today is that my finally completed Gryffindor scarf!

completed Gryffindor scarfI started this scarf early in 2011. And while the main scarf part was completed in time for my 2011 Halloween costume (Hermione, of course!), I didn’t put the fringe on the ends. It wasn’t a major problem, but since I did knit it as a tube to avoid having a wrong side, I did have some weird rolling. The picture below shows before and after fringe.

Before and after fringe on my Gryffindor scarf

There are the same number of rows after the gold stripe., but I was losing at least an inch of the scarf due to rolling.

I went for the shorter fringe, approximately an inch and a half, to try to keep it a bit more grown up and subtle.

I was so pleased to finally be able to mark this project off the list officially. I just hadn’t had time to mess with cutting and adding the fringe and it was one of those little niggling unfinished items hanging over my head.

I’ve also started using up some of the leftovers from this scarf for a few special projects, which I’ll share later…

 

4 thoughts on “Finally finished.”

Leave a comment