Holiday recap: Olympics (way over due)

*As usual, all photos are taken by the talented Mr Snips, my master photographer.

So… a month late, and I will give you my report on the Olympics. Things have been very busy around here, including a visit from my in laws, so I’m a little behind.

On our first day, we started out with a trip to the field hockey. We saw New Zealand v. Argentina for an early game at 8:00 am. I’d never seen field hockey before, but my favorite part was when they would line up for a foul and stand sooo still before they started into the action:

Field Hockey

I decided before we left home that it was England, and no way would it be super hot all day, so I put on my jeans and t-shirt. It became obvious within 10 minutes of the game starting that it was wayyy to hot for jeans. I was sweating and ended up with a sunburn. In England! Which has only happened to me once in history! But the weather was beautiful, and I tried not to complain (too much).

So, as I said, the weather was stunning, and the sky stayed blue for both of the days we attended the Olympics. Here is a beautiful view of the Orbit with wildflowers – which were an unexpected pleasure that appeared all over the park. Orbit and Wildflowers

I wondered all morning where all of the Americans were, since I was feeling a little outnumbered by the Brits and their lions, and as we walked around the park, I found my countrymen. They were all at the Today show! There still weren’t very many Americans, so we managed to be in the front row to see Savannah, Matt and Al. I even shook hands with Savannah and Al! I’m sure we were on TV (did you see me on August 7 at 8:00 am?). See how close we were! We’re kind of a big deal.Today Show

The first evening, we went to taekwondo, where we were lucky enough to get tickets to a medal ceremony. We saw Jade Jones, a Welsh girl representing for Great Britain, win a gold medal! It was a great moment to see her win and hear “God Save the Queen” and watch the Union flag rise. 

We also got to see Terrence Jennings, an American, win bronze. I thought it was great to see him and the other bronze medal winner from Afghanistan shake hands and link arms. The Olympics really brings people together from everywhere despite everything, which you hear, and think it’s cheesy, but it’s true. I thought it was all very special. I was also touched to see the American flag wave, even though we didn’t get to hear the anthem. 

Our second day at the Olympics, that Thursday, we went to handball. It was Sweden vs Hungary. The atmosphere was the best we experienced because they had so many Swedish and Hungarians there. Those Europeans are really into their handball. I had never seen it before, and I was impressed. It was fast paced and a little crazy, but definitely fun to watch.

We also saw the most amazing save ever – can you see the ball between this man’s leg and torso?! I cannot even fathom making a save like that – I am not that flexible – but I suppose that’s why he is an Olympian!Amazing handball save

We had a fantastic time at the Olympics. It really was a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and we felt lucky to be a part of it. I had way more fun than I even anticipated, and really loved the atmosphere, the parks and the events.

I’ll leave you with this beautiful image of flowers planted to make a Union flag.  We saw  this near Canary Wharf where we went for dinner one evening.Union flowersThanks for a great Olympics, London!

One thought on “Holiday recap: Olympics (way over due)

  1. Pingback: Spring knitting fever | knitsnips

Leave a Reply

