I’m not really a hipster.

Last year, I picked up two skeins of yarn from The Weaver’s Loft at the Hoosier Hills Fiber Festival. I knew one was destined to be a shawl for my mom for Christmas, and planned a second for me. I recently finished mine.

Completed shawl

It was a great pattern (Talbot Hill Shawl). It was a fabulously soft and lovely cotton yarn (Yarns of Distinction, Alpine Petite III in Twilight). But the thing is, I don’t wear shawls.

When I took my beautiful shawl to knit night and announced that I loved it, but don’t wear shawls, the ladies suggested I wear it the other way round like the kids do these days. I said, “Just how young do you think I am? I can’t pull that off. And I’m not a hipster.”

But then I put it on that way, and I kind of liked it.

getting down with the kids

So maybe I am a hipster now. And I’ve just recently cast on for another shawl. Danger: hipness ahead.

2 thoughts on “I’m not really a hipster.

Leave a Reply

