It pains me to be a hooker.

As you’ve gathered from a couple of my posts about my charity blankets, I do dabble in the art of crochet. Just blankets, actually.

I noticed while finishing blanket #1 that the hook was really starting to hurt me. The flat part of the hook was causing me pain as it flipped back and forth between my fingers. I had seen a “comfort hook” at JoAnn’s and decided it would be worth trying that for blanket #2. Once I got to the store, I realized that the comfort hook was flat for the entire handle, which I thought would increase the pain, so I ended up purchasing a round bamboo handle hook instead.crochet hooks standing up

I took my new hook home and started to plan blanket #2. Since I’ve crocheted the same blanket every year for 6 years, I decided to mix it up a bit and create one with three colors instead of my standard two. And since it’s been a year of red, white and blue patriotism (my husband becoming a US citizen, the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and the Olympics in London), I decided to do the same with my blanket.

Red, white and blue for my next blanket

As you can see from the below picture, my new hook still has a flat piece in the middle, and the hook is not shaped as nicely as my original hook. I found it very difficult to handle. I was trying to hold on only to the bamboo piece, which made the hook feel too long. And the different shape of the hook made it more difficult to easily poke through the chains.

crochet hooks

I took my blanket along as a car project a couple of weekends ago. After two sessions of an hour and a bit of crocheting with the new hook, I was in intense pain. My wrist and fingers hurt intensely in a way they never have before, and nothing could easethe discomfort for hours.

So the long and short of it is that crocheting is hurting me now no matter which hook I use, but knitting is not. I’m therefore taking a blanket hiatus, so expect only knitting for a little while. Any suggestions on what I can do to ease the pain and get back to my blanket?

One thought on “It pains me to be a hooker.

Leave a Reply

