New York, New York

I’ll be up front – this post includes no knitting. Why, you ask? Because I could not decide on a project to take with me during my quick trip to New York City. I made do with books only.

Anyway, I was in NYC last week to attend a conference. It was a great conference, filled with a lot of great information, but we’re going to talk about the one evening I managed to slip out, have a meal and go to a Broadway show instead.

I stopped at the Playwright Celtic Pub for dinner, as it was near the theatre, and the only place that promised they could feed me in 20 minutes or less (I was on a tight schedule to get to the show). It turned out to be a very nice meal of nachos that I ate in record time!

Nachos at the Playwright Celtic Pub

I then dashed off to the Music Box Theatre to see One Man, Two Guvnors, starring one of my favorites (and fellow West Ham fan!) James Corden. I fell in love with the whole cast of Gavin & Stacey, which James co-wrote and starred in, while living in the UK.

One Man, Two Guvnors program

The show was very funny, with a lot of audience participation (perhaps more than there was meant to be during the show I saw last Tuesday) and some hilarious bits where James lost the thread a bit because of the audience. It tended to be on the very British end of the humor scale, but being married to a Brit, it was right up my alley. In fact, it made me miss England a little bit. I totally understood why James won a Tony award for this performance; he was much like he is in Gavin & Stacey –  funny, endearing and a little bit bumbly. The show is basically a slapstick comedy based on misunderstandings that arise from Francis (James) trying to work for two people at once without them knowing. I would highly recommend it if you are in the NYC area.

I had the biggest room I’ve ever had in NYC for this trip, which was great for giving me space to work during the evenings. I had a nice view of 6th Avenue, but unfortunately it rained for most of the time I was there and the view actually looked like this:

View from my NYC room

Despite the weather, it was still a great trip. Now off to work on some knitting to make up for lost time…

One thought on “New York, New York

  1. What fun, food picture looks delicious. Neat you got to see a play. New York sounded like a energizing place.

Leave a Reply

