FO: Charity Blanket #1 for 2012

Finally! After six months, I’m proud to introduce you to the first charity blanket I’ve completed for 2012.

Charity blanket on queen bed

Here is it displayed on the queen bed in our guest room (which you may be able to gather is a London-themed room – a result of loving London myself and living with a Brit). It’s 5 feet wide and a shade past 6 feet long, which is the minimum for submissions to my charity group.

close-up of charity blanket

It’s my favorite pattern to crochet for charity: Blue Afghan. As usual, I’ve used the Caron One Pound so that it’s easy care for the recipient. I’ve used Azure and White for this blanket.

Though I make this same pattern year after year, I never get tired of knowing that it will go to a woman who has escaped a bad domestic situation with few supplies, and that it will keep her warm on her journey to her new life. It never stops being the most rewarding crafting I do, despite being the simplest pattern.

Each year, the woman who organizes the wrapping, collection and delivery of the Christmas packages sends us a letter that brings tears to my eyes. It always describes the joy when the woman realize there are presents not only for their children, but for them, too. And how many serendipitously end up with a blanket of their favorite colors. So I’m hoping this year there is a woman who will love nothing more than a light blue blanket!

3 thoughts on “FO: Charity Blanket #1 for 2012

  1. That is so unselfish. Most of the time I think of the children needing something. But you have enlightened me. Thank you, btw nice work.

  2. Pingback: It pains me to be a hooker. | knitsnips

  3. Pingback: FO: Charity Blanket #2 and… help me pick my next color combo! | knitsnips

Leave a Reply

