FO: Clapotis

So though I completed my Clapotis in the beginning of March (see it in progress here), you now get to see it at the beginning of June!

Finished Clapotis

It turned out much longer than I planned. I didn’t realize (i.e. – did not read) how many rows were included in the decrease and greatly misjudged how much length it would add. I am now affectionately calling it my Dr. Who scarf since it’s about as long as the fourth Doctor’s scarf.

photo4a.jpg

Not quite. It is pretty though.

Clapotis up close

It’s made with Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Cashmerino, and it is lovely and soft.

But let me tell you a secret. A dirty secret that no knitter should admit. I don’t like to wear knitted scarfs.

Shhhh.

I have some pashminas I bought in England from a street corner, and I love them. They are the perfect size, the perfect softness, and I have a way I wear them just so that makes me happy. And no scarf I’ve made has ever lived up to that for me.

For example, this scarf, I thought would be loose, open and gather beautifully at my neck. But it doesn’t. I hangs so it almost looks like it’s sagging. And, because I’m clumsy, I was picking the dropped stitches on everything I touched. And it’s too long.

saggy wrap of Clapotis

And… I’ve only worn it twice since March 4. It lives in a basket in the craft room now. I just don’t know what to do about it. It’s a great pattern, and a great yarn, but I just don’t see myself using it. I’ve never frogged a completed project before, and don’t know how I feel about it. Thoughts and feelings on what I should do?

7 thoughts on “FO: Clapotis

  1. Pingback: FO: Hitchhiker | knitsnips

  2. Pingback: FO: Newborn Vertebrae | knitsnips

  3. Pingback: FO: Sweet candy baby bootees | knitsnips

Leave a Reply

