Behind the times

So, I may be the last knitter on earth to begin a Clapotis, but I have now rectified that!

I swear this pattern has been following me. Since I joined Ravelry, every time I do a pattern search, Clapotis comes up – even if I’m not looking for a scarf or shawl. The girl in the Knitty pictures looks a lot like me, just with darker hair. Truthfully, I found it a little creepy that I had a pattern stalker.

Anyway, I was never tempted to make it until my friend Kara showed up at Knit Night with one. I loved hers, and the next day I was out yarn shopping and ran into this Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Cashmerino, and I felt like the stars had aligned.

I started this last week during the Super Bowl madness, and it’s been a good mindless knit that’s easy to pick up when I have a few minutes. I’m finding dropping the stitches incredibly satisfying, but also a little terrifying each time.

Clapotis in progress

I think the colors are beautiful.

The Clapotis requires a lot of stitch markers, which is one of my favorite things about it, because I love to use my polymer clay stitch markers. This new pattern made me think of the little green pirate that I lost last year in the middle of a project. I figured I had either lost it in my favorite red leather recliner or when I was having a knitting lunch with some friends. After checking the chair thoroughly and retracing my steps at the knitting lunch venue, I could not find the pirate. I was devastated. I ordered a new pirate to replace him. The new pirate and I got along just fine, and I was using him as one of my markers on my current project.

On Super Bowl Sunday, I was knitting on my Clapotis in my red recliner, and dropped my yellow gnome down the side. When I went to grab him, he fell deeper into the chair and out of my sight. Right there in the middle of the third quarter, I started ripping the cushion off, shoving my hands down the sides, shaking the chair, and generally acting like I had lost my mind. After a few minutes of frantic searching, I asked my husband to have a look. No luck. My father-in-law stepped in. He turned the chair all the way over. After a couple of minutes, he said, “I found it!” I looked at it closely. It was the missing pirate, seeing light for the first time in several months. I told him that was wonderful, and thank you! But that was not my gnome.

He kept searching. “What’s this?” he said. He held up a small square of amber that went into one of my favorite bracelets. I had no idea where I had lost that, so I was amazed it was in the chair.

It seemed that everything I had lost last year was magically surfacing in the chair. I was thrilled. Buy why wouldn’t it give up the gnome?

We finally gave up for the evening and finished watching the game. We laughed for a while about the Patriots losing the game and talked about how nice it was that at least one Manning was able to win the Super Bowl in Indianapolis. We went to bed.

But I couldn’t stop thinking about the gnome, and kept speculating on how I could get it back. Maybe the chair had a one year limit on it – it would only give me back the gnome in February 2013. Maybe the chair required a sacrifice – you had to drop something new in it to get the original thing out.

On Monday, I sat in the chair, shook it some more, and searched all around again. Still no gnome. By Tuesday, I was considering trying the sacrifice idea. I hoped that a plain plastic stitch marker would be enough to appease it and have the chair cough up the gnome.

On Wednesday, I went to work. Around midday, I saw a picture of the gnome on Facebook. My father-in-law had found it for me. So now the whole family is back together, and living on the Clapotis. They are enjoying the Signature needle much more than living in the bottom of a recliner.

Pirate and Gnome stitch markers on my Signature needles

And the lesson learned? Don’t knit in the red recliner, and if you do, make sure your father-in-law is visiting from England.

One thought on “Behind the times

  1. Pingback: FO: Clapotis | knitsnips

Leave a Reply

