Hats, hats, everywhere!

A couple of months ago, I was browsing Wendy Knits, and came across a call for knitters to contribute hats to the Hats for Sailors project. I went to the group on Ravelry to learn more. I appreciate those serving our country more than I can say, and I thought it was a lovely idea. So I did what any good knitter would do – I started my own hat, and then brought the idea to my Friday Night Knitting Group.

I sent my first hat off to Sandra in early November. I have since made 2 other hats, and am in the midst of a third.

Sailor hat in progress

I am a Cascade 128 Superwash addict, so that’s what this is. You can make about one and half hats out of one skein, so I usually make one solid, and then one with stripes to use up the extras. This happens to be a stripe one, and I think it’s turning out nicely. I’ve modified A Hat Fit for a Boyfriend pattern, and cast on only 80 stitches instead of 100, and voila! a beautiful sailor hat! I prefer this pattern, as I think the way the ribbing ends at the crown is very nice and clean, so it’s become my go to. Thanks to Kara for turning me on to it!

And my knitting friends have really taken to the cause as well – just look at all of this beautifulness that I currently have in my house, waiting to send off.

Sailor Hats

Contributions (from left to right): Laurie, Kara, Barb, me. Front: Me

I hope they will keep the sailors very warm, and let them know that there are many Americans out there who are thinking of them, and appreciate the sacrifices they make every day. And in the meantime, we will keep knitting for them.

One thought on “Hats, hats, everywhere!

  1. Pingback: Sailor Hats: Delivered | knitsnips

Leave a Reply

