First finished object of 2012!

At my LYS Open Studio on Friday, I finished the slipper socks for Mr Snips! They turned out well, if I do say so myself.

Slipper Socks

These socks are my first toe-up socks (so already, one resolution crossed off the list!), my first finished project of 2012, and have the added bonus of keeping Mr Snips warm around the house. That’s a win-win-win solution.

Toe-up was easy and quick, especially in this bulkier merino. I still like top-down, and will probably alternate as I do different kinds of socks. But the goal of this year was really just to try some new things and add to my knitting repertoire, which I’m already doing.

The yarn I used is Great American Yarn Merino in the blue/purple colorway. There isn’t too much purple in it (so it’s still manly), but the color variations do make them interesting and lovely. I knit them on size 6 dpns, which still gave me a nice tight fabric.

I’m now off to work on the other four projects I have started. Two of them (a blanket and a cardigan) are ones that I hardly consider in progress; in fact, I’d say we’re just dating while seeing other people. The other two projects (a hat and some gloves) and I have gotten pretty serious, and I’m pretty smitten, so you’ll probably see them materializing on the blog before the others.

Have a wonderful what’s-rest-of-the-weekend before it’s time to go back to the day job!

Leave a Reply

